In the sixth century the Emperor Justin il built o palace and o monastery here. The convent, now ruined, is also of that period. The monastery was restored in 797 by the Emperess Irene, who was btinded and confined here by her son Constantine VI, impatient for the throne. Later Michael II, the Stammerer, who had murdered the Emperor Leo V, fell in love with Euphrosyne, imprisoned in a convent by her grandmother Irene: he married her, but on his death she was again imprisoned by her stepson. Here also Zoe was confined by her adoptive son Michael V.
The island, sacked by Latins, Venetians and Russians between 860 and 1302, was afterwards Inhabited only by fishermen, until the eighteenth century, when it again began to be developed. Now there are many charming villas and gardens, with a wealth of flowers throughout the year, especially carnations, Trotsky was held in a villa here after escaping from Russia. There are good restaurants and hotels near the quarry. Transport Is the same as on Heybeliada, and steamers run to Maltepe, Pendik and Yalova.